Which Generation do I REALLY Belong to?

Just for fun, I let some online quizzes tell me which generation they think I’m from. Because, you know, the Internet is always right.

Here are the results:

USA Today: Which Generation Are You at Heart?Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 8.44.27 PM.png

I am apparently a member of Generation X by a pretty large margin – 41%, with the next highest category being only 24%! I am, however, a fresh-faced 20-year-old with little to no political interest and zero idea of who John Hughes is. (Edit – a quick Google search tells me that Hughes is the director of the Home Alone movies! See, you learn something new every day.)

Buzzfeed: So How Big of a ‘Millennial’ Stereotype Are You Really?

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 9.01.41 PM.png

This quiz was strange. It was very American, so questions like if I’ve borrowed a Netflix login (yes, I know Netflix’s come to Hong Kong, but does anyone actually use it?) and worn something from Urban Outfitters or American Apparel didn’t apply to me. According to Buzzfeed, I don’t fit the stereotype of a Millennial because I’ve never felt ‘fired up’ by *insert celebrity here*, self-identified with a character on Breaking Bad or been dumped via social media. Maybe I’m glad I don’t, then.

TIME: Which Generation Matches Your Parenting Style?

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 9.09.11 PM.png

Okay, I’m not a parent, but I’m pretty good at imagining myself in scenarios that don’t pertain to me at present (or have never pertained to me). That imagination had to stretch pretty far for that breastfeeding question, though. TIME tells me I’m a Boomer parent, which means I must have picked some of the more traditional options for the questions, which surprises me because I don’t even think my own parents were the most conventional growing up.

Leave a Reply

